Click here for a SiteMap

Official City Web Site for Chandler, Arizona    |    Text Size  Increase Text Size Decrease Text Size    
Transportation Commission

The seven members serve in an advisory capacity concerning community transportation policy issues including freeway, arterial streets, public transit, bicycle and pedestrian issues.

The Committee will work to review, monitor and propose changes to the Transportation Study, Transit Study and Bicycle Plan and will advise the Transportation & Development Director in establishing priorities at budget time in relation to transportation programs and projects.

Meetings typically are held the third Thursday each month at 7 p.m. Meetings take place in the South Atrium Conference Room in the Transportation and Development Building located at 215 E. Buffalo St. 

Requirements: 7 members (3 yr term); Must be qualified elector; resident 1 yr preceding appointment. Applications currently being accepted. 

The term of each member shall be for three (3) years, and each member shall serve until his/her successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy in office during the term shall be filled by the Mayor with approval of the Council for the unexpired term.

Members (7) Term Expires  Date Appointed
Alex Gernert 05-01-2015 06-22-2006
David White 05-01-2015 05-24-2007
Jim Fordemwalt 05-01-2016 05-24-2007
Leigh Rivers 05-01-2016 04-24-2014
Jim Symonds 05-01-2017 04-25-2013
Ben Schwatken 05-01-2017 04-28-2011
Tricia Gillam 05-01-2017 04-24-2014
Staff Liaison
Dan Cook, Transportation Manager   782-3400

Revised: 04-24-2014

Established 09-27-2001  Ordinance No.3300

Online Application To Serve on Boards, Commissions & Committees

If you have any questions call the City Clerk's Office at 480-782-2180.