Click here for a SiteMap News Release

Official City Web Site for Chandler, Arizona    |    Text Size     
June 14, 2012

Chandler Centennial scholarships awarded to 12 CGCC students

On June 11, 2012, Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny and the City Council presented a dozen Chandler-Gilbert Community College students with $511 scholarships for the upcoming fall semester. More than $6,000 was donated to the scholarship fund over an eight month period by local businesses, service organizations, and individuals. The scholarships were established by the Chandler Centennial Steering Committee to honor of the City’s 2012 Centennial Celebration, and in recognition of the many educational institutions that have served the community over many decades.

Each applicant submitted an essay of up to 500 words describing how long he or she has been a Chandler resident and how the community has positively impacted his or her life. You can read the essays here. In addition, the students had to possess a minimum 3.0 grade point average (high school or college), be Chandler residents and U.S. citizens, qualify for in-state and in-county tuition, and carry a minimum of six credit hours.

The scholarships winners are:

Cameron Black        Randal Brookins        Tanae Casto        Patrick Campbell        Sharon Despars        Billie Freiwald
Evan Grant Nicolls        Kolton Orcutt        Yan Shen        Elizabeth McBurnett        Elaina Wusstig        Vanessa Ybarra

Chandler-Gilbert Community College President Dr. Linda Lujan praised the partnership between the college, the Centennial Committee and the community. "The Centennial Scholarship provided a wonderful opportunity to work with Whole Foods Chandler, Kiwanis Club of Chandler, Chandler Rotary Club, Chandler Quilting Guild, and the CUSD Alumni Association to raise funds for deserving Chandler college students,” Dr. Lujan said. “I am so appreciative, on behalf of those students, to the City of Chandler, these community groups, and numerous individual donors for their efforts to raise more than $6,000 to support these students' academic goals." 

Follow more centennial news at  

Winners of the Centennial Scholarships were honored at the June 11, 2012 Council Study Session.

Pictured (from left): Councilmember Trinity Donovan, Vanessa Ybarra, Elizabeth McBurnett, Yan Shen, Kolton Orcutt, Billie Freiwald, Sharon Despars, Tanea Casto, Randal Brookins, Cameron Black, and Mayor Jay Tibshraeny. Not pictured: Patrick Campbell, Evan Grant Nicolls, and Elaina Wusstig