Click here for a SiteMap News Release

Official City Website for Chandler, Arizona    |    Text Size  Increase font size Decrease font size    
Aug. 26, 2016

Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny selected as President of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns

Members of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns selected new officers and members of its governing board during the organization’s annual conference held in Scottsdale this past week. Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny was selected to a two-year term as president of the League.

"I am very passionate about the work that the League performs on behalf of Arizona’s cities and towns, and I look forward to taking on this leadership position in the coming term," Mayor Tibshraeny said. "As we work with the Governor and Legislature to protect our interests, we also will continue to collaborate with our state lawmakers to ensure the best interests of all are being served."

As president of the League, Mayor Tibshraeny will serve with two other newly selected League officers: Lake Havasu City Mayor Mark Nexsen, vice president; and City of Maricopa Mayor Christian Price, treasurer. In addition to the three officers, the League is governed by an Executive Committee made up of mayors and councilmembers from cities and town located in Arizona. 

Mayor Tibshraeny is currently serving his seventh term as Mayor of Chandler.  He originally served as a member of the Chandler City Council from 1986 to 2002 as Councilmember, Vice Mayor and as Mayor. He was first elected Chandler Mayor in 1994, and served in that capacity for four consecutive terms through 2002. Prior to returning to the Mayor’s Office in January 2011, he served eight years in the Arizona State Senate.