Chandler’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award winners honored

Jan. 18, 2023
Dr MLK Jr Award Winners and Mayor & Council

CHANDLER, Ariz. – The City of Chandler’s Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Division hosted a private reception Friday, Jan. 13 to celebrate the winners of the inaugural Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. awards program.

The awards program honors the accomplishments of Chandler area residents, including youth who contribute significantly to creating a compassionate and socially just community through their dedication to human and civil rights. Three honorees were recognized, along with a Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

The winners are:

  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Achievement Award presented to John Prothro
    Prothro is an esteemed Chandler Unified School District educator who uses his voice to advocate for social justice with the desire of bringing intentional change within his spheres of excellence.
  • Emma Arbuckle Empowerment Award presented to Shirley White
    White, a longtime Chandler resident, is the embodiment of a person who is unselfish, unbiased, devoted to helping others and the building of community. 
  • Youth Action Award presented to Kanix Gallo
    Gallo (he/him) is a Chandler student dedicated to the advocacy of others who feel they do not have a voice. He often speaks up and works on behalf of others in need.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Glen LaVon Woods
    Woods is a co-founder of the South Chandler Self-Help Foundation, Inc. and is a former community organizer and director of the Chandler Community Action Program. She organized the first Black History Celebration in Chandler, as well as the annual Miss Juneteenth Pageant. Thousands have been touched by her efforts and given encouragement through the Black History and Juneteenth celebrations.
    Learn more about Woods.

“One of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s most important principles was service,” said Dr. William Crawford, chair, MLK Awards Committee. “The award recipients have demonstrated a commitment to the service of others and to making a difference in our community. Clearly, they are deserving of this prestigious recognition.”

In addition to the awards presentation, attendees heard from the event’s keynote speaker, Dr. Karen Hardin, President, NAACP – Maricopa County Branch. 

For more information about awards program, contact the City’s DEI Division

Media contact:
Stephanie Romero
City of Chandler, Public Information Officer