

Nov. 1, 2020

# CDC Temporary Halt in Residential Eviction to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19 Information

# <u>Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and U.S. Department of Health and Human</u> <u>Services (HHS), Effective Sept. 4, 2020</u>

The public health and economic impacts of COVID-19 have been widespread in every state, including Arizona. Executive Order 2020-49 was announced by Governor Ducey on July 16, 2020, to extend the Eviction Moratorium issued on March 24, 2020 (Executive Order 2020-14) for the state of Arizona through **Oct. 31, 2020**.

The CDC declared housing to be a health issue and signed a declaration that an eviction could lead to the spread of COVID-19. The CDC Temporary Halt in Residential Eviction to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19 Order was issued Sept. 1, 2020, to be effective Sept. 4, 2020 through Dec. 31, 2020.

## **Requirements:**

In order to delay eviction, a tenant must comply with specific criteria. During the term of the CDC order, a landlord, owner of a residential property, or other person with a legal right to pursue eviction shall not evict any **COVERED PERSON** from any residential property between Sept. 4, 2020 and Dec. 31, 2020.

- A. The following defines a **COVERED PERSON** and ALL criteria must be met:
  - 1. The tenant has used their best efforts to obtain government assistance for rent or housing; AND
  - 2. The tenant meets any one (1) of the following criteria:
    - a. The tenant does not expect to earn more than \$99,000 in annual income in Calendar Year 2020, or more than \$198,000 on a joint tax return; OR
    - b. The tenant was not required to report any income in 2019 on a tax return; OR
    - c. The tenant received a stimulus check under the CARES Act or in connection to a coronavirus aid; AND;

#### **Neighborhood Resources**

Housing and Redevelopment
480-782-3200
480-782-3220 Fax
chandleraz.gov/affordablehousing
National Number for Relay Service 7-1-1
TTY 800-367-8939

**Mailing Address** 



Nov. 1, 2020 Page 2

- 3. The tenant is unable to pay full rent due to loss of hours, a layoff, or extraordinary out of pocket medical expenses; AND
- 4. The tenant is making best efforts to make timely partial payments that are as close to the full payment as possible, AND
- 5. Eviction would render the individual homeless or force the individual to live in close quarters or a shared living setting.
- B. All adult tenant of a household requesting these protections must complete the self-certification for (Declaration Under Penalty of Perjury for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Temporary Halt in Evictions to Prevent Further Spread of COVID-19) and submit the form to their landlord. Section 8 participants are requested to submit the form to the submitted to the Housing Office.

All unpaid rent will be due at the end of the moratorium and landlords have the right to charge late fees. Tenants owing rent should immediately contact their landlord to request a payment agreement.

Landlords who try to evict during the term of the Order may be subject to extreme penalties.

For more information regarding the CDC Temporary Halt in Residential Eviction to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19 order, please refer to the CDC website that addresses the Order:

Information & Form: <a href="mailto:cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/covid-eviction-declaration.html">cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/covid-eviction-declaration.html</a>

FAQs: cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/eviction-moratoria-order-faqs.pdf

### **Neighborhood Resources**

Housing and Redevelopment
480-782-3200
480-782-3220 Fax
chandleraz.gov/affordablehousing
National Number for Relay Service 7-1-1
TTY 800-367-8939