Election Results Certified: Chandler voters elect mayor and three council members, approve Home Rule Proposition 408

Sept. 11, 2018
Election Voting Sticker

On Aug. 28, 2018, Chandler voters cast their ballots for mayor, three city council seats and continuation of the Local Alternative Expenditure Limitation (Home Rule Option) for the City of Chandler. Voter turnout was 29.72 percent, with 44,099 voters casting ballots out of a total voter population of 148,404. During their meeting on Monday, Sept. 10, the City Council accepted the official results of the election.

Councilmember Kevin Hartke ran unopposed and was elected Mayor with 36,564 votes. Councilmembers René Lopez and Terry Roe were re-elected with 20,391 and 19,542 votes, respectively. The third open seat on the Council will be filled by Matt Orlando, who received 17,847 votes.

Proposition 408, the Alternative Expenditure Limitation also known as the Home Rule Option, was overwhelmingly approved with 85 percent (33,630 votes) of voters giving the City’s elected officials the authority to set the City’s annual spending limit based upon available revenues.

The newly elected mayor and councilmembers will take office after a swearing-in ceremony at the Jan. 10, 2019, Council meeting. 

For more information on the Chandler election, go to chandleraz.gov/elections or call the City Clerk’s office at 480-782-2180. To register to vote in the Nov. 6 General Election or to change your existing registration information, go to the website of the Maricopa County Recorder’s Office.


The official results of the Aug. 28, 2018, Chandler Primary Election are as follows:

Total Registered Voters: 148,404

Total Ballots Cast: 44,099

Voter Turnout: 29.72%


MAYOR RACE:                                  Total Votes                 

Kevin Hartke (elected)                   36,564                          


COUNCILMEMBER RACE:              Total Votes      Vote %

Rene Lopez (elected)                     20,391              20.57%

Terry Roe (elected)                         19,542             19.71%

Matt Orlando (elected)                 17,847             18.00%

Matt Eberle                                     17,219             17.37%

William “Bill” Crawford                  13,899             14.02%

Aaron Harris, Sr.                               9,949             10.04%



Proposition 408 (approved)         33,630             85.38%


Additional election results.