Business Registration

Business Registration Renewal (New for 2019)

You can now pay for your Business Registration and Specialty License renewals online.  You will receive a letter by mail with additional instructions and information.  Please be sure to have your letter available, then click here to renew your registration.

 

A business registration is a certificate issued to a business for each physical location operating within the City limits. All Chandler businesses are required to complete a Business Registration Application and obtain a business registration for each location within the City limits. All requirements and regulations related to the Business Registration process are located in Chapter 61 of the Chandler City Code.

The initial annual fee will be prorated quarterly, depending on the business start date during the calendar year.

  • January 1 - March 31, 100% of annual registration fee
  • April 1 - June 30, 75% of annual registration fee
  • July 1 - September 30, 50% of annual registration fee
  • October 1 - December 31, 25% of annual registration fee

The application and all fees must be received within 45 days of the business start date to avoid delinquent penalties. If you are unable to remit the application timely and are beyond the 45 days, simply add the penalty indicated to the registration fee and remit this as the total amount due.

The approval process normally takes 10 business days once a completed application has been filed. If the application is not fully complete, it is returned to the applicant with specific instructions detailing what additional information is needed for the Registration.

The registration certificate is valid for the calendar year in which it is issued and expires on December 31. The registration may be renewed each calendar year. The annual renewal fees are due for each Chandler location by the last business day in December. The renewal is considered delinquent if not received by the last business day in January. Postmarks are not considered as evidence of timely payment. The Business Registration Frequently Asked Questions provides detailed information about the process and indicates certain businesses that are excluded from the requirement to obtain a Business Registration (see Chandler Code section 61-3 - Exemptions).

There is no fee associated with the business registration for non-profits or businesses with an existing specialty license.

All Chandler based non-profits are required to provide a copy of their current (dated 1994 or later) letter from the IRS confirming the organization's non-profit status under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Service Code.

According to the Legal Arizona Workers Act (A.R.S. 41-1080), specific documentation is required to issue a registration if your business ownership type is identified as an Individual (Sole Proprietorship) or General Partnership. Before your registration can be approved, you must provide a copy of a document indicating your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law (if applying as a General Partnership, all partners must provide the required documentation). For more information and a list of specific documents allowable, see the Business Registration Application Supplement.

 

Latest Update

Beginning in January 2017, the Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR) started the administration of Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) on behalf of Arizona Cities and Towns. Prior to State administration, the City of Chandler used its City issued TPT License much like a business registration, which required a license and fee for each location, regardless of whether or not the business was engaged in taxable activities. However, the State now issues licenses based on different criteria. Therefore, Chandler has lost the ability to track all business types and locations in the City. In order to address the issue, the new City Code Chapter 61 has been established and requires all businesses located in the City to obtain a Chandler Business Registration beginning in 2018.

The new code changes allow Chandler businesses to obtain a Business Registration Certificate, which is to be displayed at their location. The new Registration will also create a complete list of all businesses located in the City, will aid verification of records with ADOR, and will assist with public safety and other information requests. Additionally, it is anticipated that in late 2018 the entire Business Registration process will be available online.

The new City Code is being implemented in phases and an informational letter was sent to Chandler businesses about these new requirements. Over the next few weeks you may receive additional correspondence, including a business information update sheet. The update request will provide us with the latest information about your business. We ask that you take a careful look at the form and update any information that is not accurate.

We appreciate your help and patience as we implement these requirements in the coming weeks. We hope to have all correspondence sent to businesses by the end of February and will need to have your response, including updates and any payments that may be due, returned to the City of Chandler by the end of March 2018.