Short-Term Rental

A short-term rental license is a certificate issued to a short-term or vacation rental business operating within the city limits. A short-term rental or vacation rental includes renting, advertising, or offering to rent a property on a web-based platform regardless of the length of stay. All Chandler vacation rentals are required to complete a short-term rental application and obtain a license for each location. All requirements and regulations related to the short-term rental license process are located in Chapter 22 of the Chandler City Code.

Short-Term Rental License Requirements

You can apply, renew, update and pay for your short-term rental license online. You will receive information by email with additional instructions.

  1. Obtain a Transaction Privilege (Sales) Tax license from the Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR)
  2. Register with the Maricopa County as a rental
  3. Neighbor Notifications 
  4. Apply for a Chandler Short-Term Rental License
  5. Post emergency information inside rental unit

Apply for a License  Renew a License

Annual License Fee

The initial annual fee will be prorated quarterly, depending on the business start date during the calendar year.

  • July 1 - September 30, 100% of the annual registration fee
  • October 1 - December 31, 75% of the annual registration fee
  • January 1 - March 31, 50% of the annual registration fee
  • April 1 - June 30, 25% of the annual registration fee

The completed application and all fees must be received prior to the business start date to avoid penalties.

Neighbor Information Required

Before operating a short-term rental an owner is required to notify neighbors around and adjacent to the rental. Please review the neighbor notification requirements of Chandler Chapter 22 Section 6 of the Short Term Rentals Code.

Penalty for Non-Compliance

Operating without a license; penalties. A short-term rental owner who operates a short-term rental without a license is in violation of this chapter and subject to civil penalties. In addition to any other penalty pursuant to the Chandler City Code, the city may impose a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per month against the owner if the owner or owner's designee fails to apply for a license within thirty (30) days of receiving a written notice of violation from the city. 

Approval Process

The approval process normally takes seven (7) business days once a completed application has been completed. If the application is not complete, it is returned to the applicant with specific instructions detailing what additional information is needed.

The license certificate is valid for the fiscal year in which it is issued and expires on June 30. The license must be renewed each year. The annual renewal fees are due for each Chandler location by the last business day in June. Postmarks are not considered evidence of timely payment.

According to the Legal Arizona Workers Act (A.R.S. 41-1080), specific documentation is required to issue a license if your business ownership type is identified as an Individual (Sole Proprietorship) or General Partnership. Before your license can be approved, you must provide a copy of a document indicating your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law (if applying as a General Partnership, all partners must provide the required documentation).

Tax Information

Properties available for rent in Chandler for less than 30 days at a time are subject to Arizona Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT), and are included in the State’s Transient Lodging classification (A.R.S.) § 42-5070 and the Hotels classification under the Model City Tax Code (MCTC) -444 and -447. The additional tax on transient lodging under the Model City Tax Code also applies to rentals in the City of Chandler.

The tax rate for short-term / vacation rentals in Chandler is:

  • Chandler Hotel/Motel rate: 4.40%
  • State of Arizona rate: 7.27%
  • Total Tax Rate: 11.67%

Additional information: Arizona Department of Revenue

Report a Rental Property

We are interested in pursuing all rental properties for compliance. If you would like to report a rental property for licensing compliance, we will gladly research the location and verify all tax and licensing requirements are met.