Museums Advisory Board

Sunsetted: Nov. 7, 2019

The responsibilities of the seven-member board is to assist and advise the City Council on essential policies, rules, regulations, and other matters relating to the operation of museums within the City and preservation of significant historic or other cultural sites that reflect our local or regional heritage.

Meeting Minutes
2019 Museums Advisory Board Minutes
2018 Museums Advisory Board Minutes

These minutes are fully searchable within each year by using the “Find Feature”. For prior years meetings not listed please contact the Clerk’s Office at 480-782-2181.

Requirements: 7 members (3 yr term); 6 members must be qualified electors; residents 1 yr preceding appointment; 1 member may reside in the local planning area; 1 member shall be recommended by the Historical Society Board of Directors; 1 member may be recommended by the Arizona Railway Museum Board of Directors. Call 480-782-2668 for information.

The term of each member shall be for three (3) years, and each member shall serve until his/her successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy in office during the term shall be filled by the Mayor with approval of the Council for the unexpired term.

Members (7) Term Expires
Dianne Roberson (Railroad Museum Rep) 05-01-2022
Christine Halvorson 05-01-2020
Joshua Askey 05-01-2021
Brenda Abney 05-01-2021
Michelle Reid 05-01-2021
Thomas Escobedo 05-01-2022
Holly Metz 05-01-2022

Staff Liaison
Jody Crago
Museum Administrator



Established 1-28-88; Ordinance No. 1919, Amended 10-95; Ordinance No. 2587, Amended 5-12-11; Ordinance No. 4300

If you have any questions, call the City Clerk's Office at 480-782-2181.